Two Windows 7 and VMware View 4.6 tips

You can get VMware View 4.6 with Windows 7 up and running reasonably quickly.  However it’s all of the various Windows 7 tuning and customisation that can take all of the time.  There are a range of customisation guides already on the Internet such as the VMware View Optimization Guide for Windows 7

There are two tips I wanted to share, which will hopefully make your implementation easier as well.

Windows 7 VDI clients registering to Active Directory

I used VMware’s Customization Specification Manager to create a specific customisation for Windows 7, which I then used in VMware View.

However, I found that when the Windows 7 VM’s were customised and it completed, the clients were not members of my Active Directory.  I found I needed to enter the DNS Active Directory name (ie. acme.org) rather than the old NETBIOS Active Directory name.  ie. ACME.    My Windows 7 clients would then happily join the name when being customised.

 

Making my users Local Administrators

For my lab environment, I wanted to allow all of my users to be local Administrators.  That way they could do what ever they wanted to their own Windows 7 VM.  They are all technical IBMers so they are big girls and boys !  🙂   I remember working for a client several years ago that had a similar approach.  They allowed users to install what ever they wanted on their PC.  Any problems and their workstation was wiped from the Helpdesk.

To do this, I used the approach I’d resolved for that client many years ago.  I created an OU and moved the Windows 7 workstation objects into that OU.  For that OU I created a Group Policy Object (GPO) with a Restricted Group setting that included the INTERACTIVE group.  I did this by following the instructions here.   I also included the Domain Admins group as well.

I also applied the Loopback processing mode of Enabled (mode Replace), which is located under the Computer Configuration and location of Administrative Templates\System\Group Policy\User Group Policy loopback processing mode.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

